Белорусская федерация ориентирования


Забыли свой пароль?

Предстоящие соревнования

Открытый Кубок Березинского района по велоориентированию

Открытый Чемпионат Беларуси по велоориентированию

Гомельская многодневка

Открытый Чемпионат Беларуси по рогейну


Открытый Чемпионат Беларуси по велоориентированию

Открытый Кубок Березинского района по велоориентированию

Поиск по сайту


Middle Distance: Matthias Kyburz repeats European form for gold

Matthias Kyburz enjoying victory                                                     Photos: Erik Borg

Matthias Kyburz, Switzerland is the new Middle Distance Champion with Olav Lundanes, Norway in silver medal position and Daniel Hubmann, defending champion, third. Kyburz is also European Champion at this distance.

On a warm and sunny day in Tanum the race was held in highly technical Swedish terrain with many fine contour details and vegetation variations. The Finn Hannu Airila held the lead for quite some time, but in the later stages the race moved into another gear.

The most consistent and accurate runner proved to be Kyburz, who ran especially quickly on the final loop after the arena passage to take victory and his fourth WOC gold medal by 14 seconds. Olav Lundanes, Middle distance champion in 2014, will rue time lost with poor route choice on the long leg 3-4 and also going into control 9. Daniel Hubmann had a very good race overall but slightly lacked the others’ speed in the final stages.

Olav Lundanes rrrr 23-8-16

Olav Lundanes, Matthias Kyburz and Daniel Hubmann at the flower ceremony

Thierry Gueorgiou also had a very clean run and was in the lead when he finished, but proved to be just slightly off the pace. His fellow countryman Lucas Basset, silver medallist last year, ran well and finished fifth, and Norway also finished with two athletes in the top six with Magne Dæhli sisth, 1.12 down on the winning time.

Leading results

  1. Matthias Kyburz SUI 37:09
  2. Olav Lundanes NOR 37:23
  3. Daniel Hubmann SUI 37:32
  4. Thierry Gueorgiou FRA 37:44
  5. Lucas Basset FRA 37:51
  6. Magne Dæhli NOR 38:21


Возврат к списку